No Murders In The Rue Morgue


Tea Cookies, Literally
May 21, 2009, 11:55 am
Filed under: Baking, Cheapo, Cookies
Cookies and Easter Island Tiki Thing: A Still Life

Cookies and Easter Island Tiki Thing: A Still Life

I started this blog with the intention of posting financial-crisis-compatible recipes, so I thought I’d start off making something using only the stuff I had in my kitchen. I’m a grocery store junkie, so it was hard, but I was pretty pleased with what I came up with. All of the ingredients I’ve used are cheap and readily available (with the possible exception of Lyle’s Golden Syrup, which is a bit hard to find in the US – I imagine you can substitute brown rice syrup, agave, or even 1/4 cup brown or regular sugar with an extra 2 tablespoons of liquid added), so you should be able to make this recipe with very little investment.

Back to the creative process, I’ve found that the best way to come up with ideas to use up stuff you’ve already got is to lay it all out on the counter and look at it. Maybe it’s just me, but my brain comes up with way better ideas when I actually look at my ingredients than if I just think about what I’ve got. So, I laid all my stuff out on my counter and saw this:

Counter

The lemon/ginger/golden syrup combo screamed “Tea!” at me, so after a bit of mental gymnastics, I came up with the idea of a lemon ginger cookie with black tea ground into the flour. While next time I make these I’m going to experiment with giving them a stronger black tea flavour (I think I’ll substitute strong brewed black tea for the soy milk and perhaps add a bit more ground tea leaves to my dry mix), they came out pretty, pretty, pretty good for a prototype. I imagine these are the kinds of cookies Bruce Dickinson would serve me in bed every morning if we were married…

Lemon Ginger Tea Cookies

Cookies II

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon black tea, finely ground (I used a mortar and pestle, and it worked perfectly)
1/4 cup oil
1/3 cup golden syrup (you could probably sub 5 tablespoons agave for this if you don’t keep any Lyle’s on hand)
2 tablespoons soy or rice milk
5 tablespoons granulated sugar
zest of 2 lemons
1 tablespoon grated ginger
juice of one lemon

Actions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease a baking sheet or two.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and ground tea in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

In a seperate bowl, whisk together the oil, syrup, soy milk, lemon juice and zest, vanilla, and grated ginger. Make sure to mix well; golden syrup is thick and will tend to clump up in the bottom of the bowl.

Add the wet ingredients into the dry mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until combined. Don’t overmix or you’ll get tough little rocks, but make sure everything is combined.

Portion the cookies by the tablespoon onto the greased cookie sheet. These cookies don’t spread much, so flatten them a bit and form them into nice little circles. Bake for 8 – 12 minutes (I like my cookies softer, so I leave them in around 9 minutes). They’ll be a little soft in the middle still when you take them out, and that’s okay.

These are good on their own, but I was feeling fancy and added a bit of a frosting made just of icing sugar and lemon juice. They would also be great as sandwich cookies. I imagine a cooked lemony frosting would be pretty awesome… Best enjoyed listening to Iron Maiden’s “Killers” album and dreaming about flying your band around the world on your own private plane making metal history.

Cookies III

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

